School and friends. Part 8. Should, must, have to

should, must, have to

GRAMMAR

Should + infinitive

Should indicates an advice, or a recommendation

Example 1:

– I have a difficult test tomorrow.

– You should study hard.

Example 2:

– I have a headache.

– You should take an aspirin.

Must + infinitive

Must (subjective obligation) in general expresses what a speaker thinks is necessary (1)

Example: I must go home, it is too late.

A rule (2)

Example: You must not feed the animals at the zoo; You must not touch paintings at the museum.

Have to

Have to (objective obligation) in general suggests that somebody else has imposed the decision

Example: She has to work harder at school to get good marks.

EXERCISES

1 Give an adivice to your friend

– I have a headache. You sould …

– I argued with my best friend. You should …

– I am not ready for the maths lesson. You should …

2 Must or Have to

1. I … eat less to lose weight.

2. You … do your homework.

3. I … get up early to go to work.

4. He … be in 10 pm in the airport.

5. We … wear colder clothes.

Comments

