What motivates you to learn languages?

People learn languages for different reasons: work, relationship, traveling. But in the most cases people learn languages because they have to, not because they want to. If you’re agree with me, keep reading.

Let’s think where our motivation comes from, how not to lose it and how to find your motivation for learning?

Motivation is something that gives you desire to learn and not to give up. But unfortunately it doesn’t last forever. We need something more. We need to know why, for what reasons and what is our aim to do this or that. You can start learning the Finnish language and give up after one week simply because it has 15 cases and difficult grammar. But if you know why you do that, you’ll never give up.

For me, motivation comes from the results. It’s like in sport, when after several months of workouts you see how your body has changed and it gives you more desire to continue. Learning foreign languages is the same for me, it gives me more satisfaction to continue when I see how I progress. So try to test yourself after some time of learning and you will see that you make a progress.

The next thing is that foreign languages give you a chance to get more information. You might know that those who have information rule the world. It is probably exaggerated but the idea is the same. Languages give me freedom to read what I want, from the first sources and I don’t need translation.

I enjoy learning languages because they tell a lot about people and their vision of the world. It is interesting to know why we say like that and foreign people say differently. For example, a Ukrainian phrase “Дай боже, щоб у тебе все вийшло” is not typical for French people, they rather would say “Je croise les doigts pour que tout se passe bien”. In Ukrainian language we use more expressions connected with the God but French people use superstitions. Or another example when French people say “C’est ma petite amie” is not typical for Slavic people. We say more “Це моя дiвчина (UA)/ To jest moya dziewczyna (PL)”. We can find a lot of examples like this.

Moving on!

Learning a language is not just grammar and vocabulary. You learn about different country, it’s culture, traditions, music and food. This is more than just the process of learning. It gives you opportunity to travel and make friends. Moreover, you become open person, who’s not afraid of trying something new. By the way, a great way to stay motivated is to find someone who speaks your target language, in this way you can talk to this person and practise your language. It is always good to have a langage partner rather stay alone.

How many languages can you learn in the same time? As for me, two is the best choise. I always start learning two languages simultaneously just because I can compare structures, words and it helps me to learn quickly.

In a conclusion I would like to say that it is just my point of view. Some people need strong motivation and to know why, for what reasons they learn languages (and this is great too !) but for other people, like me, the process of learning languages is passionate and it opens the doors to the new world.

What is your motivation to learn languages?


5 Comments

  1. Good question and on the spot points you’ve made!

    For me the learning process itself is the motivation. I find learning a highly rewarding and satisfying activity, my brain craves for challenges and growth.

    I think to really learn a language you have to initially forget about all the rules you have been thought and that’s quite hard for us, especially if we started learning at an older age. It forces us to rewire our brain, in a way, and adapt to new rules.

    I could have learnt virtually any other skill, but I find languages fascinating. One reason for that (you have mentioned it in your post) is that understanding the language a country speaks offers you one of the most accurate glimpses to their culture, beliefs and values.

    1. Thanks for reading! That’s true, when you learn a language you shouldn’t concentrate yourself on grammar, you should try to speak as much as possible. For some people it is easy because they enjoy the learning process and they are more open for communication, they don’t afraid of making mistakes, but for others it is more difficult and in this case they should find something that gives desire to learn, find motivation.

  2. I also feel like results is actually a good motivation. I’ve learnt a few languages (I’m native French, fluent in English, used to be very good at Japanese, some Germand and Italiant so far) and I always loved being able to communicate in different languages. Also I think it makes you realize and understand things about your own language.

    1. Yes, I agree with you. Learning a foreign language you become closer to your mother tongue and understand things, like etymology of some words for example, better.

  3. I get the motivation when I see how many more contents I can consume in a foreign language. For example, I can watch more videos about a myriad of subjects and read more literature in their originals. In that way, I feel more and more independent in the globalised world. I feel that I don’t have to rely on translations and I can check out sources to be sure no one is trying to lie to me.

Comments

