My language list for 2017, and why do I learn Esperanto?

January is the month of resolutions. Someone start doing sport, stop smoking but I do my Language resolutions. In 2016 I was able to improve my French, as I moved living in France. I feeling confident when I speak to French people and I can even sometimes understand their jokes!… yes, I’m working on it. Also, 2016 was my Spanish year. I can understand a lot of information and I had some experience of speaking with a native speaker.

Swedish

Well, 2017 will be the year of Swedish. I’d already started learning it before but my motivation disappeared somewhere and I gave up. Now, I feel like I want to continue, and maybe it will be a good base to start learning Danish or Norwegian.  Or, maybe some day I will visit this country (I’m very excited about it).

German

My aim is to achieve B1 level. I would like to speak correctly, not just understand this language. By the way, it is super fun to find similar with Swedish, Russian and Ukrainian words. Here in Alsace, almost everyone speaks German and I find it so cool. When I hear that people “jump” from French to German so easy, it gives me motivation to learn.

Italian

The Italian language is my favorite one. I love how it sounds, its pronunciation, its words… But I was always afraid to confuse Italian and Spanish in my head. Now I am certainly ready to parlare Italiano.

Chinese

No, for the moment I don’t have the strict aim to speak fluently Chinese. It’s just my curiosity. I learn it 15 minutes per day with “Hello Chinese” and “Chinese skill” applications on my phone when I don’t know what to do. To me, it is a fun way of spending my free time instead of wasting it. I also enjoy its pronunciation and different sound levels. It’s like music classes! 

Esperanto

Hopefully, I don’t have to spend a year to learn Esperanto. People say we need just 150 hours to learn it. So easy! Honestly, when I first started to read a text in Esperanto I could understand 80% of the information. I mean that’s cool! There are so exceptions at all! Nouns finish by “o”, adjectives finish by “a”. There are three tenses: present (finishes by “as”), past (finishes by “is”) and future (finishes by “os”).And there are only two cases – Nominative and Accusative. Isn’t it great? 

Now I give you some reasons to learn Esperanto.

Reason #1

It is a great base to learn other languages. As I told you, for the first time I understood 80% of the text. Esperanto took a lot of words from Latin languages, for example: lingvo – a language (lat.), kuiri – cuire (fr.), kanto – a song (esp.) and so on. Also, it has similarity with Slavic languages, and even Chinese! 

Reason #2

Over 2 million people speak Esperanto and 685000 people learn Esperanto on Duolingo. There are a lot of Esperanto communities and you can find new friends all over the world or maybe use it as your secret language among your friends.

Reason #3

Esperanto has its own culture. You can find songs, stories, books written in Esperanto. By the way, Esperanto is the 32nd language of Wikipedia and it’s even more popular than Greek!

Esperanto has its history. It was created by Polish doctor and polyglot L.L.Zamenhof in 1887. He wanted to make Esperanto an international language, that is why he gave this name “Esperanto” – espérer – to hope.

You can listen to a song in Esperanto here: Liza Pentras – Bildojn

For the moment I use Esperanto in 12 days application. It is available in different languages (I chose Ukrainian!). Every day you have different text with audio. There is also a grammar page and a vocabulary page. After that, you can practice your skill by doing exercises.  

Well, that was my language list for 2017. What is yours? Write me your comments below. 

22 Comments

  1. How do you have time to learn so many languages??? (I know the answer is probably something to do with practicing every day, which I am really bad at doing..) I’ve been living in Poland for a year and a half and my Polish is still terrible. Do you take courses or are you mostly self-taught?

    1. You don’t need a lot of time to learn languages. And yes, you’re right, it’s enough to practice them every day at least 10 minutes. I don’t take any courses, just sometimes a Spanish workshop to talk to people.
      I like Polish, it was easy to learn for me, as I am Ukrainian, but I agree that the grammar and pronunciation are difficult. Are you still practicing your Polish?

      1. I was taking a course, and I carry out basic interactions every day. Sometimes my students (8 years old) teach me things too heh. I think the biggest obstacle for me is the pronunciation, which makes it harder to memorize words, and the noun cases, which makes it hard to understand the word when people are talking (when I see it spelled it’s much easier).

      2. You should listen a lot of audio in Polish and read aloud (but I’m sure you do this). This is very helpful for me when I’m learning a language. Good luck with your Polish 🙂

  2. Bon courage !

    For me it will be the Nederlands because I live there (and it’s fun!), the Korean coz I love the alphabet, and Toki Pona because it bring me joy, don’t know why.

    And keeping up with my Hungarian (my wife helps with that) and Esperanto (idem).
    [And Javascript, Python, Rust…]

    Hope to see you on the Esperanto chanels and [shameless advert:] and the road with Pasporta Servo!

    1. Bon courage à vous aussi. Toki Pona sounds fun!
      No, I’m not going to be on Esperanto channels or something like that. I see that Esperanto community is very widespread. I didn’t know couch surfing for Esperantists before 😀

  3. I’ve been very curious about Esperanto, however, have never met anyone in my life who has mentioned it. My language list expands a bit further into the future. I’m hoping to learn Finnish, German and whatever other language comes up in my life that is influenced by the people around me.
    For now, my goal is Italian. I’d like to master Italian before I learn the next few altogether in the method you mention.
    I was a bit wary when you said you’d lost the motivation already for Swedish. Language learning is not linear. Figure out what your style will be for Swedish. It might be a language you need to learn in a style that you don’t usually follow. Be kind to yourself! And good luck!

    1. Thanks for your comment. I enjoy learning Swedish, even if it is nor that easy. Last year I started it just because I watched some YouTube channel in Swedish and it was interesting to understand what are they talking about. So for that moment it wasn’t my priority, so after several months I gave up. But this year I want to restart learning Swedish because I still remember a lot of things I’d learnt and I don’t want to forget it completely. Moreover this language is fun and I enjoy the learning process.

  4. Wow, it looks quite ambitious! 😀 I think this is the first time when I listen to the song in esperanto! I feel a bit poor with my only goal for 2017 that is Spanish fully in focus. I get really distracted when starting from scratch more than one language.

    Keep going with your plans (also for maintaining Polish 😉 ).

    1. Thanks. Well, on the other hand your goal is perfect. By the end of 2017 you will speak Spanish without any problems. Good luck with that!

  5. Splendid! One thing I’m very vexed about are some blog posts written by polyglots that put down Esperanto and/or endangered languages, and also given my Jewish and Polish heritage Esperanto played a significant role in both of their cultures, and continues to do so. Learned a bit once, but had trouble finding good music in it so the attachment wasn’t there … but hey, if you have any recommendations…!

    For 2017, Hungarian, Welsh, Tajik, Scottish Gaelic, Krio (of Sierra Leone) and dipping my toes into the Dravidian Languages, not to mention improving Icelandic / Greenlandic / other Celtic languages.

    Great job! Keep on being an inspiration!

    1. Thank you! WOW, your language list is impressive, as well as the choise of the languages, that’s rare.
      I’ve also tried to find some good music in Esperanto, but nothing for the moment. I’m still working on it! You can check the songs of Martin Wiese, they are not bad.

      1. Multaj dankon! Perhaps it would be a good idea to write a blog post about real-life Esperanto usage (e.g. music, radio, publications, etc.) I think a lot of curious people would really like that and find it useful!

  6. I wanted to learn Esperanto many years ago but got distracted. I was wondering, how do you gauge your “level”? With a test or just going off the definitions subjectively?

    1. I don’t try to estimate my level. I’m learning it just for fun. I enjoy reading small texts and when I understand everything that’s enough for me.

  7. Cool. I’m living in Thailand, so Thai is my primary study, but I’m studying Hindi Russian and Filipino because I encounter these a lot. I’m also studying Hebrew as a purely intellectual pursuit.

Comments

